Main Help → Using the GEDitCOM Editor / Writing Extensions→ Create Browser Style or Plugin
A browser style is kept in a MacOS package, which is a collection of files in a folder that appears to the user as a single file. The extension for browser styles is .gfrmt.
A plug in or extension is kept in a MacOS package, which is collection of scripts and associated files. The extension on the file name is .gplug.
To create a new browser style or extension:
- Choose File→New →Browser Style menu commands. The new browser style will be created with all the minimally required templates. Normally you will add many more templates as well.
- Choose the File→New →Extension menu command. The new extension will be created with some key property templates. You should edit the entries in those properties and add scripts or other files that define the extension.
If the browser style or extension is currently installed in GEDitCOM II, the best way to open it is to open it from GEDitCOM II.
- Run GEDitCOM II.
- Select the browser style or extension from the "Extensions" menu while holding down the option key (note: this opening method does not work when running GEDitCOM).
Alternatively, or if the browser style or extension is not installed in GEDitCOM II, you can open an existing browser style or extension by the usual MacOS methods:
- Use the "File→Open..." menu command and select the file.
- Choose a recently opened browser style or extension in the "File→Open Recent" submenu.
- Drag a browser style or extension on top of the GEDitCOM Editor icon in the Dock.
- Double clicking a browser style or extension may open that file in either GEDitCOM Editor or GEDitCOM II. You can configure MacOS to open the one you prefer by selecting any file with extension
.gfrmtor.gplug, pressing ⌘-I, and then select the preferred application under "Open with:".